Pentadactyl

Being a vim aficionado, I used Vimperator with Firefox, but I’ve found a fork of the former, called Pentadactyl, which looks really cool, and more flexible (although I haven’t explored this enough, yet). In the meantime, at least in version 1.0b5 (FF 3.5+), that status bar text, non https pages, is white on a light background, which sucks, because it makes the text very hard to read. Here’s a simple fix. Create a .pentadactylrc file in you home directory (don’t forget the initial dot), and put this in it:

” do not hide Firefox’s main bars
set guioptions+=mTB

” change the status bar default text colour to black
highlight StatusLineNormal color:black

NOTE: only the highlight line is needed to solve the colour scheme problem, the “set…” line is to prevent the addon from hiding Firefox’s main bars (which it does by default).

EDIT: In order to be able to be able to use some usual shortcuts when editing text, insert this in ~/.pentadactylrc:

 inoremap <C-a>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-b>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-c>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-i>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-u>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-v>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-x>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-y>      <pass>
 inoremap <C-z>      <pass>
 inoremap <S-Insert> <pass>

6 responses to “Pentadactyl

  1. Hi-

    hoping you can give ma bit of insight- if not, no worries.

    Here’s what I have in my _pentadactylrc-

    hi Hint color: #333333; background: White; font-size: 14px; font-family: Consolas, Osaka, monospace, monospace; font-weight: bold; padding: 0px 2px; border: 3px outset #ddd; opacity:0.80;
    hi HintActive color: black; background: #FFFF00; opacity: .8.5;
    hi HintElem color: black; background-color: #FFFF00; opacity: .9.5;
    hi HintImage opacity: .9;

    But this is what I have trouble with:
    highlight StatusLineNormal color:#002E63

    I cannot get it to change the status line; it actually changes the font color of the status line– any thoughts?

    Dig your site and that you share tips -really appreciate it.
    Lee

  2. Hi Lee,

    I’m afraid I can’t answer your question: I tried that approach, but being unable to change the background, I resorted to changing the text colour. I think it’s an acceptable solution, but should you find how to change the background, be sure to let us know!🙂

    Dig your site and that you share tips -really appreciate it.

    Thanks!

  3. highlight StatusLineNormal color:#00009C

    That seems to work for me -Windows 7, Pentadactyl build 1.0b5.1, Firefox 3.6.13

    If that helps. Thanks for triggering that “I gotta figure this out!”