Second post with drivel

After installing drivel, in Archlinux, my distro of choice, a funny thing happened: KDE’s device notifier stopped working. Specifically, it stopped detecting CDs and DVDs (but USB pen drives and HDD worked fine). Now after googling and searching the distro forums, I found some (old) threads which hinted that the problem could be a lib which was installed because it was a dependency of some GTk package, which in itself was a dependency of drivel (which is, obviously, GTK based). So, the first thing I did was to uninstall drivel, and all dependencies it brought along. No good. OK, so what if the problem is not with KDE, with the underlying hardware detection layer (i.e. HAL)? We monitor its activity with “lshal -m” (run as root), insert a CD, and surprise, nothing happens!! OK, to the HAL wiki page, where I, finally, found the bastard root of the problem:

I am not sure why but you may have a file under /etc/hal/fdi/information/media-check-disable-storage_model_$YOUR_DEVICE.fdi which should have a content similar to:
File: /etc/hal/fdi/information/media-check-disable-storage_model_$YOUR_DEVICE.fdi

<match key="info.udi" string="/org/freedesktop/Hal/devices/storage_model_DV$
false

If the key is set to false (it was in my case), all you have to do is to change the value of the key to true.

I did it, restarted HAL and DBUS, and it was finally working….

But wait, I’m not done yet! After that, I reinstalled drivel, along with all its children dependencies, and now it works! As a matter of fact, I’m writing this post from drivel… Oh well…

Os comentários estão fechados.