How to unfreeze Linux

I just recently found out a little bit of knowledge that should be WAY more spread. It appears that when a Linux system freezes to death (a situation that’s sadly often if you happen to own things like ATi graphic cards…), you can unfreeze back into the world of the living, without the (hard) reset button! Quoting:

  1. Hold down the Alt and SysRq (Print Screen) keys.
  2. While holding those down, type the following in order. Nothing will appear to happen until the last letter is pressed: REISUB
  3. Watch your computer reboot magically.

Here’s the lengthier explanation. Remember, “Raising Elephants Is So Utterly Boring” …

3 responses to “How to unfreeze Linux

  1. Haven’t you _ever_ heard the sentence: “Go reisub!” ? It’s quite common among Linux “lovers”. : – )
    I’m on holidays (4 whole days! =p ) ! Weeeeeeee!

    Great blog dude!

    Your number one thousand five hundred and twelve fan,
    Kenny.

  2. As I had told you some time ago, no, I did not. Yes I know, I still have a lot to learn… (won’t we computer guys always have a lot to learn?)

    Anyway, enjoy your days off, I’ll be there by Friday night, and then I’ll annoy you personally😀

    And thanks, glad you liked it😉