Procrastination

I once knew a guy that quit half-way through his Psychology degree because each time a class was over, he started thinking he was carrying whatever (psychological) disease the teacher was just lecturing about. Well, a couple of hours ago, a friend of mine sent me this link, telling me that he had finally uncovered the explanation for his idleness the past few months:

The procrastinator is often remarkably optimistic about his ability to complete a task on a tight deadline; this is usually accompanied by expressions of reassurance that everything is under control. (Therefore, there is no need to start.) For example, he may estimate that a paper will take only five days to write; he has fifteen days; there is plenty of time; no need to start. Lulled by a false sense of security, time passes. At some point, he crosses over an imaginary starting time and suddenly realizes, “Oh no! – I am not in control! There isn’t enough time!”

Oddly enough (or maybe not?) this is exactly how I would describe myself, somewhere in my third and fourth years as an undergrad! Odd? If I compare it with the years before that, well not so much. You see, this started when the projects I was getting assigned, despite remarkably laborious, were, well, dull. No interest whatsoever, nothing (or puny little few things) to learn. I guess then it’s no wonder that one is «optimistic about his ability to complete a task on a tight deadline». After all, learning was the hard stuff, right? Well, not if you study in a place were there is the annoyingly implicit assumption that quantity will eventually make for that lack of quality… hooray for my teachers!

I was never so glad for no longer being in college…

Os comentários estão fechados.