MySQL bought by Sun…

And BEA bought by Oracle. WoW. News and comments in Slash dot and here. Wonder what comes next… just hope not having to become a Solaris user. I think MySQL already came bundled with, but still, buying MySQL could be Sun’s response to the cost of proprietary databases (but I’m unsure of the role of PostgreSQL in this scenario).

Thinking a bit about this recalled my college databases classes, in which my teachers use to tout us all for Oracle (I remember one of them saying something like ” [Oracle] is the database you will most likely use in the world out there”. This is certainly not true now, but was it true some three or four years ago? I really don’t know, but some of my colleagues of back then still are (note the present tense) pretty mind-numbed about Oracle. Regardless of the state of the IT market them, this shows (IMHO) the wrong kind of attitude in teaching: it should broaden your horizons, not narrow them.

Of course they eventually started teaching PostgreSQL, but that course still has too much of business school in it [Academia Business]…

Os comentários estão fechados.