Gutsy Gibbon… and the “easy” install hype…

Easy my ass… first, I (tried) to follow the instructions given here. Problem: The button labelled ‘Version Upgrade’, insisted on not showing up. After a reboot (thought some of the updated packages may need a reboot to get into place, e.g. kernel related stuff…) and some tweaking, I finally got the damn to button to show up. The next problem was that when I clicked it, it kept throwing different error messages. After some trying, it finally worked (not sure of why though…) and the rest of the upgrade went smoothly.

That lasted until the very last step: booting onto the newly upgraded OS-> all I got was a black screen. A quick glance at logs showed that nothing serious was going on: all the services started normally. But all I kept getting was that damned black screen. Eventually I found why: ATi nightmares came back to haunt me. Long story short, I had to delete the old xorg.conf to make the system generate a new one with the default driver. The bad side: no 3D accel and booting up the system now takes longer to start the graphical system, not sure why…

The good side: for some time now I’ve been trying to watch an Anime series called Death Note, but it kept crashing Xine, audio and video in mplayer were out of sync, and VLC showed it in bad quality (weird codec). Now it plays fine in XIne! (which incindently means that the Xine crash was due to the ATi driver previously being used… man I do have to buy an nvidia one of these days…)

One response to “Gutsy Gibbon… and the “easy” install hype…

  1. Pingback: On Gutsy, again… « pale green byte